Catholic leaders in Texas have released the names of 286 priests who are accused of sexually abusing children. Eight of them are from the Austin Diocese. It's the largest number of names released since a grand jury report from Pennsylvania in 2018. 300 names came out as part of that report.

Fourteen Texas dioceses released names of people accused of abuse. The Fort Worth diocese elected not to release a new list of names according to KWTX News 10. 

Eight priests from the Austin Diocese who are named have worked in parishes in the Killeen, Temple, and Waco area. Of those eight names released, five of the priests are still alive.

Below is a list from our partners at News 10 of the priests with local ties, along with their current standing:

Ricardo Aguilar

Rogers – St. Matthew
Temple – Our Lady of Guadalupe
Current Status: Laicized
Born: 1959
Ordination: 1995
Removal from Ministry: 2011
Laicization: 2017

Daniel Joseph Delaney

Lampasas – St. Mary
Born: 1946
Ordination: 1973
Death: 2008

James Gallagher

Gatesville – Our Lady of Lourdes
Hamilton – St. Thomas
Born: 1932
Diaconate Ordination: 1984
Death: 2005

James H. Greenwell

Cameron – Blessed Sacrament
Marlin – Santa Maria del Pilar
Marlin – St. Joseph
Temple – Our Lady of Guadalupe
Waco – Sacred Heart
Waco – St. Francis
Waco – VA Hospital (Chaplain)
Born: 1924
Ordination: 1954
Death: 2012

Michael Francis Krol

Hamilton – St. Thomas
San Saba – St. Mary
Born: 1919
Ordination: 1945
Death: 1996

James R. O'Connor

Bellmead – St. Joseph
Hamilton – St. Thomas
Hearne – St. Mary
Jarrell – Holy Trinity
Taylor – St. Mary
Temple – St. Mary
Waco – St. Joseph (In Residence)
Waco – St. Mary, of the Assumption
West – St. Mary, of the Assumption
Born: 1942
Ordination: 1969
Removal from Ministry: 2004
Laicization: 2018

Killeen – St. Joseph
Temple – Our Lady of Guadalupe
Born: 1944
Diaconate Ordination: 2007
Removal from Ministry: 2010
Laicization: 2013

Longinus Juventius Reyes (a/k/a Lonnie)

Waco – St. Louis
Current Status: Removed from Ministry, Retired
Born: 1942
Ordination: 1969
Removal from Ministry: 2004
Retirement: 2004


More From KTEM-AM