Killeen Police Would Like to Remind You of the Juvenile Curfew
It's Thanksgiving break for kids in Central Texas, and Killeen PD sent out a reminder through their Facebook page reminding people of the juvenile curfew ordinance.
School is out for the Thanksgiving break and the Fall weather in Central Texas is expected to be pretty good through the week for the most part. With the break, a lot of kids will be out running around and doing kid stuff and Killeen PD would like to remind you of the juvenile curfew ordinance that is in effect.
If you are unfamiliar with the Youth Curfew Ordinance, here is the definition according to the City of Killeen - Code of Ordinances, Sec. 16-109:
First of all, a Minor shall mean any person under seventeen (17) years of age.
Curfew hours means:
(1)11:00 p.m. on any Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, or Thursday until 6:00 a.m. of the following day; and
(2)12:01 a.m. until 6:00 a.m. on any Saturday or Sunday.
(3)Notwithstanding (1) and (2), from June 1 to August 15 of each year, curfew hours shall be from 12:01 a.m. on any day until 6:00 a.m.
The ordinance is meant to keep kids out of trouble. Most of the time Killeen PD will just tell the kids to go home or contact a parent to pick them up. But according to Sec. 16-113. - Penalties (a), Any minor violating the provisions of this article shall be guilty of a Class C misdemeanor as defined by the Texas Penal Code and shall be dealt with in accordance with the provisions of V.T.C.A., Family Code title 3, and the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure.
It's important to note that parents can also be held responsible for their kids actions so a minor getting in trouble after curfew can result in a Class C Misdemeanor and be subject to a fine of not less than fifty dollars ($50.00) nor more than five hundred dollars ($500.00).
That could really put a damper on Thanksgiving and cut into the Christmas fund so do the right thing and get home by midnight.